Rainbow Cupcakes Recipe

IMG_2587
From the second we decided on the Rainbow/Color theme for Zalyn’s First Birthday Party, I was excited about making the cupcakes. I’ve made multi-colored cupcakes before. I did orange, yellow and white ones for Halloween to look like a candy corn. But never have I done 5 colors in one cupcake! It was easy, I will tell you. But a lot of steps.

Here’s what you’ll need:

– 1 box of WHITE cake mix- Make sure it’s the white and not the yellow.

– The ingredients the box calls for. I used Pillsbury. It has an egg white recipe and the whole egg recipe. I used the egg white recipe for two reasons- healthier and the batter will be more white so the colors will mix much more brighter.

Wilton Food Coloring GELS. These are crucial. Don’t use food coloring liquid, you won’t get the vibrancy. I got the multi-pack of the gels from Wal-Mart. They’re actually kinda tricky to find. Some Hobby Lobby locations will have them. But the multi-pack, I’ve only been able to find at Wal-Mart. It’s a better buy than purchasing each color separate.

And here’s what you do:

1. Mix the cake mix, eggs, oil and water in a large bowl or stand mixer.

2. Gather 5 plastic cups. I used these so I wouldn’t stain any bowls. But this is just a personal preference. Seperate the batter into each of the cups. Separate the batter by putting 2 cups of batter into each cup.

IMG_2564

3. In each cup add a couple drops of the food coloring gel. Stir until you no longer see any of the white batter. You can add as much of the gel as you want. BUT- if you add too much, it can get runny and make your batter a bit liquidy.

4. Prepare your cupcake tins by lining them with paper liners. I used white ones so my guests could see the color. You can start with any color you want. I mixed it up a bit. I didn’t go in any paticular order. Put 2 tablespoons of one color. If you want the swirl effect,then just add the next color, and the next color, etc. If you want the layered effect without them running together then dip your finger in a small bowl of water and swirl each layer to lay flat. I did the swirl effect. It made them look like colorful marbles.

IMG_2569

5. I filled each one up almost completely full. I like a big cupcake, what can I say?

6. Bake as instructed on the cake batter box.

7. Decorate the cupcakes to your liking. You can use the food coloring gels for the icing as well, but I just used white icing.

IMG_2591

Voila! You’re done!!!! Aren’t they fun?

_MG_3011

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Rainbow Cupcakes Recipe

  1. mydearbakes says:

    Thanks for sharing this lovely recipe =)

Leave a Reply

