Words

I used to journal. I used to journal A LOT. I have so many notebooks, diaries, what have you, that they fill up an entire suitcase. I have some of them here at my home and some in the basement of my parents house. Yes, I have so many that I have to split them up for they don’t all fit in my tiny little home. Why is this relevant? Well, it’s crucial because I can count on ONE hand how many notebooks I have from the past let’s say, 6 years.

This makes me sad. Very sad.

Now, I might add that when I bought my first very own computer back in 2002, I started journaling on the Text Edit of that lovely little Powerbook G4. I have since printed out all those pages. They’re in the suitcase at my parents house. But in the mist of typing on those little white keys, I also wrote out on pages while I was away from my computer. Which was often because in those years, I was very busy. Spent quite a lot of time on subways and buses.

Ok, back to my point.

I feel in the years that I have slacked off in my writing, I’ve lost a little bit of myself. I’ve lost my creative spark. I feel as if my brain is on lockdown. Sometimes when telling a story or explaining something, I struggle to find the right words. Is it left over pregnancy brain? Or is my brain responding to the fact that I don’t “use” it nearly as much as I once did?

Let me add another point, in all of my years being a “journaler” I never once published any of it. I never had a Live Journal or a blog. In fact, my first blog wasn’t until 2 years ago when my sister in law inspired me to do one. But I promised myself I would never use my blog like I used my notebooks. My blog would just be an online “database” of pictures and my daily musings. Nothing personal. Which, I would somewhat like it to remain that way.

Ok, back to my point, again. If you only saw any of these said notebooks, “this” happened a lot. I strayed from the topic. A lot. So much that sometimes certain topics weren’t revisited for at least a few days.

So, in an effort to “start over”, to “get back into the swing of things,” “get my brain working again,” I am going to go to the bookstore and buy a brand new notebook. Yes, I have roughly 10 notebooks lying around the house. One has this, one has that in it, what have you. But this new notebook will be the new beginning. It will be me getting my groove back. It will be me writing just for the sake of writing. It will be my “Morning Pages.”

Wish me luck.

What about you? How do you stay inspired? How do you keep your “motor running”?

Part of the inspiration for this post is coming from the book, The Artist’s Way.

Leave a Reply

