Tuesday’s Tunes

I’ll start with some commentary on The Voice. We loved watching last season. It aired right around the time Zalyn was born so we have memories of watching the blind auditions with a newborn in our arms. So, this season, we’re automatically hooked. I’m rooting for Christina’s team. My favorites are Lindsey Pavao and Charlotte Sometimes (from Blake’s team.) What about you? You watching The Voice this season, who are you rooting for?

I’ve always been an Indigo Girls fan. All thanks to my lovely sister who loves them. Amy Ray, one half of the girls of indigo, released her 6th solo album today. I’m loving it.

So, remember a few weeks ago when everyone was freaking out about the At The Drive-In reunion? Well, it turns out to just be a “nostalgia thing,” says Omar Rodriguez-Lopez from the group. I’m ok with that. As long as they pass through St. Louis for a show. I think it’s quite ironic that I’ve seen them a few times, all of which were in New York. That’s actually the case with quite a few of my favorite bands. Spent the greater part of my 20s listening to bands that aren’t really doing much these days. But I have the albums and memories to show for it.

Metric have announced that their new album, Synthetica, will be out June 12

Now, THIS is a festival I would break my I’m-too-old-for-festivals outlook for…

Miike Snow’s new record, Happy To You, came out today. It’s pretty good but I’m not going to lie, it’s nothing like their last one.

Why did it take me so long to buy this album by Shabazz Palaces??? They’re coming to St. Louis on April 24th to the Luminary Center for the Arts.

Speaking of The Luminary... Let’s just talk a minute about the Zola Jesus show last week. That girl has a voice. And a voice that is not to be reckoned with, even live. BUT… the show made me second guess all the shows coming to the Luminary in the months ahead. Why? Well, maybe because A) there is no stage and B) there was zero lighting. So, therefore, we couldn’t see ANYTHING. I could barely see my friends that I went with. Yea, maybe if we arrived earlier and got a “spot” right up front. But still, it would be akward with no stage. Will the negative experience I had at the Luminary convince me not to go see all the amazing shows ahead? Hmmm… we’ll see.

Pitchfork announced their festival lineup for this summer.

My hubby will be over the moon excited when he finds out about this news… Squarepusher announced he has a new album coming out May 15.

I leave you with a track by CSS that constantly comes on our Pandora station at work. I just can’t get enough of it.

Leave a Reply

