Homemade Granola Bars

My amazingly inspiring boss shared her delicious homemade granola bar recipe with me. And since so many of my friends and family are eager to try them as well, I thought I’d blog them here. Easier than emailing the recipe, dontcha think?

Here’s what you’ll need:

1 small (14 oz) can of Sweetened Condensed Milk

2 cups of old fashioned oats (NOT the quick kind)

1/2 cup flax seed

1/2 cup crushed cashews

1/2 cup cut up dried apricots

1/2 cup cut up dried cherries

1/4 cup craisins

1/2 cup sunflower seeds

1/2 cup coconut flakes

1/2 cup of any other yummy dry ingredients your heart desires. i.e. sesame seeds, almonds

Preheat your oven to 275. Mix all the dry ingredients together in a large bowl. Then add the sweetened condensed milk. Mix together until well combined. The key is the more milk and less dry ingredients, the gooey-er the bars will turn out. And vice versa. So, you can use your own judgement. If it’s too wet, add more oats or any of the other dry ingredients you’d like more of. I love apricots so I used a lot of those. Cover your baking sheet in a sheet of parchment paper. Spread the mixture over the paper. I used my hands to smoosh it all over. It should cover the entire baking sheet.

Bake for 45-55 minutes. I let mine cool over night but you don’t have to. Once it is cool, break into pieces with your hands. Store in a ziploc bag for freshness. It will stay fresh up to 2 weeks. I even crumbled some and poured almond milk over it (another great idea from my lovely boss.)

Enjoy!

Tagged ,

One thought on “Homemade Granola Bars

  1. twinmama0809 says:

    Made this today – so yummy! Thanks for sharing. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

