Moving on

Sometimes in life, we just need a little change. Sometimes we need to take a look at our surroundings and just reevaluate them, see if they are good for us. Since becoming a mother, every little thing I do, has a completely different meaning. Every thing I do, I do it for my daughter. So the most recent huge decision I made was not only for the benefit of my career but also for her.

I have made the decision to leave my current place of employment and move on. A former co worker of mine had opened up a salon with her husband just over a year ago. I loved her haircuts so much, that I continued to go to her. I looked forward to my appointments with her. We really connected and it was just great to catch up with her. Working in a salon, you don’t get the pleasure of getting your hair cut with the salon experience. But remaining loyal to her haircuts, I was able to get that experience. And I loved it. So, back in October while getting my haircut, she brought up the idea of hiring another stylist and said how much she would love for it to be me. We got to talking and we set up a time to talk about it proactively. After this said meeting, it was like a huge door was opened. They offered me things that I didn’t even realize that I needed. But hearing them offer it to me, I realized that it was something I just needed. For me. For my family.

I put my notice in the last week of December. It was a very emotional moment for me. I’ve been at the same salon for 4 years now. I grew into the stylist I am today. I became part of a family. In the time I was there, I got married, had an emotional miscarriage, picked up the pieces, grew closer and closer to my little salon family, got pregnant, had a baby.  I developed unique bonds with each and every one of my co workers. And in the blink of an eye, it was all over. Well, let’s not say over, let’s just say, rearranged.

Yesterday was my last day. I cleaned out my station, said my goodbyes and tried to look forward. I’ve learned a lot of empowering things from my time there. Most importantly, I learned not to be afraid of confrontation. That communication is key. And that no matter what anyone tells me or how anyone treats me, I must do what is best for my well being. All in all, we are all selfish creatures and sadly it is just how the world works. It is just how we approach our selfishness that makes us not quite selfish, persay. Just confident. And sure. I know a thing or two about change. In my twenties, I craved it. I felt like I needed change constantly (another blog post entirely.) But in the past few years, change somewhat frightened me. So making this decision with my head held high, no regrets, confidence in stride, felt pretty darn good.

2 thoughts on “Moving on

  1. twinmama0809 says:

    Onward and upward, my dear. SO very proud of you for doing this!

  2. janet says:

    we said, superbly presented, this is what a call professional and confident!! you will be blessed with prosperity , fortune and all good in your step Julie, proud of you . Janet 🙂

Leave a Reply

