Memory Lane Monday

So, Memory Lane Monday is turning more into Memory Lane TUESDAY. But such is life. I get distracted….

In honor of Thanksgiving this week, I’m going to rant about some Thanksgiving memories.

1. We grew up in a fairly large house. With 6 children, it just made sense. Our backyard was amazingly huge. We took advantage of the beautiful wide open space. Especially on Thanksgiving. We started the tradition that every T-day the whole family had a soccer game. No matter the weather. There we were out there running around in sweat pants and Adidas coats and stocking caps. We were kind of a big deal (still are, minus the 90’s attire and strange sportsmanship.) I miss those days.

2. My first Thanksgiving away from home was the year I moved to New York. The family I was living with and nannied for did things so differently. They had a huge 3 course meal complete with spaghetti, ham and even more spaghetti. The little baby in the family, Anthony, was feeling under the weather. After all the eating, I had plans to go to see Phantom of The Opera on Broadway. So, my fellow nanny friend, Daniel and I took the train. But we didn’t make it that far. I caught was Anthony had. I can remember sitting on the train platform with a plastic bag at my worse. By the time I got back home, the entire family was feeling the same thing. The Thanksgiving flu of 2002.

3. The year after the big Flu of 2002, I planned on staying in New York with friends to celebrate. My dear friend, Gretchen, came to visit and we decided to go to Boston for the weekend. We took the bus from China Town to downtown Boston. Stayed with friends. Drank wine. Ate Tofurkey. Met up with other Boston friends. Drank more wine. Took the bus back. I lost my journal this weekend. Sounds like a simple detail that doesn’t really matter but when you’re a chronic journal-er like myself, it’s a big deal. I called all of our Boston friends to see if they’d seen it. No luck. I came to the conclusion that I left it on the bus. So, someone out there knows WAY too much about my life in 2003.

4. Last year this time was a rough time for me. Simply because I was coping with some very yucky morning sickness. I didn’t crave much of anything while pregnant. Except one thing… Turkey. Mind you, I was vegetarian since I was 16. Never thought I would ever eat meat again. But little Buttercup was telling my body something. And I listened. So, on Thanksgiving last year, I ate meat for the first time in 13 years! And it was awesome. Still eating meat today. But no red meat. I don’t think that will ever happen.

So, here’s to making new memories. Celebrating Thanksgiving as a mother with my little peanut. I’m pretty excited!

One thought on “Memory Lane Monday

  1. nani in the box says:

    I celebrate this Thanksgiving for giving me my first grandchild in my life. There are no words to express my happiness. I just wish I lived closer to her. We are too far apart. I miss her daddy and mommy alot too! Happy Thanksgiving and thank you to God for this blessed moment in my life Nani in the Box 🙂

Leave a Reply

